Articles in: Privacy & security

Home » Archive » Privacy & security

Distracting Beach Babes Facebook virus

Distracting Beach Babes Facebook virus

The latest malware attack on Facebook is spreading as a fake video of “Distracting Beach Babes”. If clicked, the following message is automatically posted to friends’ walls:

Facebook Chat exploit discovered

Facebook Chat exploit discovered

If your “Facebook chat is down for maintenance at this time”, there’s a good reason for that. A YouTube user dubbed Attwood66 discovered a really simply exploit that blatantly discloses the content of the Facebook Chat sessions of your friends, , as well as any pending friend requests!

Facebook Fail Friday: Facebook rejects “fake” names

Facebook Fail Friday: Facebook rejects “fake” names

Facebook doesn’t accept the registration names it suspects aren’t legit. Upon registering, users submitting bizarre, funny or simply implausible names are confronted with the following message: Our automated system will not approve this name. If you believe this is an error, please contact us.

Facebook virus alert: I saw this video on google

Facebook virus alert: I saw this video on google

A new batch of Facebook viruses is currently annoying thousands of users of the social network. One of these pests is spreading through the link: http://youtube.torrent-galaxy.in/

Poll spam silenced by Facebook

Poll spam silenced by Facebook

Seems like Facebook agreed with our report yesterday on the spam generated by the Poll application and decided to step in by deleting all public polls it published to profiles and pages. This is bad news for its developer, but the huge amount of unintentional wall posts was really an annoyance to both users of the application and users of Facebook in general.

Poll application causes Facebook spam outbreak

Poll application causes Facebook spam outbreak

There appears to be a flaw a new feature in the third party Poll application, causing newly created polls and quizzes to be unintentionally shared (read: spammed) all across one’s friends’ profiles and pages.

Automation Labs hoax

Automation Labs hoax

Click on Privacy Settings, go to Block Users… In the name box, enter “Automation Labs”…

Take control over your Facebook profile privacy

Take control over your Facebook profile privacy

Wired has a wiki article on how to Un-Facebook_Yourself or in other words: how to avoid becoming too social. Ignoring the more drastic possibility of permanently deleting your Facebook account, you basically have two options…

What you need to know about Facebook’s new privacy settings (VIDEO)

What you need to know about Facebook’s new privacy settings (VIDEO)

If Facebook’s new privacy settings confuse you, check out this video tutorial in which security software and hardware vendor, Sophos, walks you through the newest options and shares tips on how to make your profile more private and secure.

Facebook prepping new post privacy settings

Facebook prepping new post privacy settings

We broke the news about the upcoming privacy controls for profile posts well before Mark Zuckerberg told the world, because we were actually already seeing them. And today we found a new pop-up informing users about the new feature, so it looks like testing is almost over and they’re close to revealing the lock icon to the public.

Facebook security hole: How to post to pending friends’ profiles

Facebook security hole: How to post to pending friends’ profiles

Facebook application developers, Candytech, have discovered a security hole, or rather privacy issue, with the status tagging feature that was introduced in September. After launching the feature, Facebook updated the “Friends” section to show friends pending a confirmation…

Facebook FAQ: What happens to Facebook profiles of the deceased?

Facebook FAQ: What happens to Facebook profiles of the deceased?

What happens to people’s Facebook profiles when they pass away? At the request of friends or family, a profile can become “memorialized”. Memorialized profiles can become a place where people save and share memories of those who’ve passed, and these accounts will no longer show under the (reconnect) suggestions, or other areas where references to the deceased would be delicate.

Facebook FAQ: Will someone be notified if I ignore a friend request?

Facebook FAQ: Will someone be notified if I ignore a friend request?

Facebook posted a video today called “What Happens If I Ignore a Friend Request?” in which they explain how to manage your friend requests and your Facebook Friend List. The video answers a frequently asked question when it comes to the rejection of a friend request.

Exposed on Facebook: 9 different stories

Exposed on Facebook: 9 different stories

Major uproar last weekend when upcoming MI6-boss, Sir John Sawers, got exposed on Facebook by his wife. Details such as their London address, the whereabouts of their three children, holiday beach photos, etc. were disclosed on her profile which was accessible to any of the 200 million Facebook users that were part or joined the London network.

Welcome to reface.me!

Recent comments

Write for us!

Who wants to become a reface.me blogger?

Check out our t-shirts!

*Pssst!* Just so you know, yes, we also do custom designs. Get in touch!
facebook t-shirts

Have you read a REAL book in the past 30 days?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
reface.me featured on FOX News

What’s reface.me?

 



Receive e-mail updates from Reface.me:





Facebook Like Stamps