Home » Privacy & security

Automation Labs hoax




A few minutes ago, refacer Amanda forwarded the following chain message to us, asking if it was legit:

PRIVACY WARNING: THIS IS NOT A HOAX, I HAVE VERIFIED IT MYSELF…GO
TO SETTINGS, CLICK ON PRIVACY SETTINGS, GO TO BLOCK USERS…IN THE
NAME BOX, ENTER ‘automation labs’…A LIST OF PEOPLE YOU DONT EVEN
KNOW WILL COME UP, BLOCK EACH ONE INDIVIDUALLY…THESE PEOPLE HAVE
ACCESS TO YOUR FACEBOOK ACCOUNT/PROFILE AND PROBABLY SPY ON
YOU…FREAKY !!!

The short answer is: NO. It’s a hoax.

The people in this list do NOT have access to your Facebook account and are unlikely to be spying on your profile. Just enter any word in the box (eg. reface) and you’ll see another list of people that are in one way or another related to the word you entered, usually by their (last) name. It’s just a way of Facebook trying to help you find the person you want to block.

The chain message was probably spread by Automation Labs themselves to gain publicity for their website and their Farmville bot called Farming Extreme Manager. And then the question should be: would you trust your money to a company that uses this shady technique to promote itself?

Like Reface.me on Facebook




Side notes

Automation Labs hoax Posted by on February 3, 2010 at 5:55 PM. Use this trackback if you're linking this story.

Currently trending:
Facebook Timeline Hacks

Welcome to reface.me!

Recent comments

Write for us!

Who wants to become a reface.me blogger?

Check out our t-shirts!

*Pssst!* Just so you know, yes, we also do custom designs. Get in touch!
facebook t-shirts

Have you read a REAL book in the past 30 days?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
reface.me featured on FOX News

What’s reface.me?

 



Receive e-mail updates from Reface.me:





Facebook Like Stamps