Home » Privacy & security

Facebook FAQ: What happens to Facebook profiles of the deceased?




What happens to people’s Facebook profiles when they pass away? At the request of friends or family, a profile can become “memorialized”. Memorialized profiles can become a place where people save and share memories of those who’ve passed, and these accounts will no longer show under the (reconnect) suggestions, or other areas where references to the deceased would be delicate.

  • Contact information and status updates will be removed.
  • Privacy will be set so that only confirmed friends can see the profile or locate it in search.
  • Nobody will be able to log into the account in the future.
  • Existing friends and family can leave posts on the profile Wall in remembrance.

» If you have a friend or a family member whose profile should be memorialized, please contact Facebook.

Like Reface.me on Facebook




Side notes

Facebook FAQ: What happens to Facebook profiles of the deceased? Posted by on October 26, 2009 at 9:09 PM. Use this trackback if you're linking this story.

Currently trending:
Facebook Timeline Hacks

Welcome to reface.me!

Recent comments

Write for us!

Who wants to become a reface.me blogger?

Check out our t-shirts!

*Pssst!* Just so you know, yes, we also do custom designs. Get in touch!
facebook t-shirts

Have you read a REAL book in the past 30 days?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
reface.me featured on FOX News

What’s reface.me?

 



Receive e-mail updates from Reface.me:





Facebook Like Stamps